
JEFFERSON COUNTY SHERIFF’S OFFICE 

2018 BASIC PEACE OFFICER ACADEMY 
**************************** 

APPLICATION PICKUP BY:   December 29, 2017     JCCF TRAINING DIVISION 

RETURNED NO LATER THAN:  January 5, 2018     JCCF TRAINING DIVISION 

PLACEMENT and PT EXAM:       January 8, 2018 9:00 am    JCCF SHIFT ROOM 

 

Acceptance Requirements Include: 

Passing Written Placement and PT Exam / Background Investigation 

1.5 Mile Run:  Females under 18 minutes; Males under 16 minutes 

Pushups:    Females - 10    Males - 20 

  Sit ups:     Females - 10    Males – 20 

 

NO PRIOR CONVICTION OF CLASS B MISDEMEANOR OR ABOVE and NO 

DRUG HISTORY WITHIN LAST THREE YEARS. (STRICTLY ENFORCED). 

 

TOTAL COST: $2400.00 (Current JCSO Employees 50% discount) 

$800.00 PAYMENTS 

1
st Payment

 FEBRUARY 5   -   2
nd Payment 

APRIL 10   -   3
rd Payment

 JULY 20, 2018 

 

**Must be paid in full to sit for TCOLE LICENSING EXAM 

 

Cashiers Check or Money Order only made payable to: 

Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office 

 

**SEATING LIMITED to 25 CADETS  

ACADEMY START DATE:     February 5, 2018 

CLASS SCHEDULE:            Monday-Friday 6:30pm-10:30pm 

Note:  The Jefferson County Sheriff’s Academy has a minimum physical fitness 

requirement prior to sitting for the state exam. (Cooper Standards for law Enforcement) 

 

The Jefferson County Academy Provides: 

Course Instruction, Law Books, Ammunition, State Exam (TCOLE) Testing Fee 

(1st attempt only), 4 Sheriff’s Academy Uniform Patches 

 

The Cadet Must Purchase and HAVE WITH THEM ON DAY 1: 

PT Uniform (2), Cadet Uniform (2), Black T-shirt, Windbreaker, Boots, Duty Belt, 

Under Belt, Holster, Belt Keepers, Handcuffs and Case, Magazine Case, Flashlight, 

Semi-Automatic Handgun with at least 3 magazines. Night sights and weapon light 

recommended. NOTE: Sig Sauer P320 9mm recommended for female cadets. 

DO NOT BRING WEAPON INTO CLASS. 

 

Required Prior to Academy Start Date:  Cadet will provide all documentation 

required by the Commission (T.C.O.L.E.) stated in the most current Rules 

Handbook (www.tcole.tx.state.us) or (Texas Administrative Code Title 37; Part 7; 

Chapter 217; Rule 217.1 Minimum Standards for Initial Licensure) 

Application Packets are available at the Training Division of the Jefferson County 

Sheriff’s Office (5030 Highway 69 South, Beaumont, Texas 77705). 409-726-2500 

http://www.tcole.tx.state.us/


DAILY CLASS REQUIREMENTS: 

 

Cadets will arrive ON TIME, EVERY DAY, in uniform of the day, with all study 

materials, ALL GEAR and boots shined. 

 

CELL PHONES will be secured and available for class breaks and family/work 

emergencies only. 

 

Cadets are expected to maintain a level of professionalism and hygiene throughout 

the academy that is commensurate with the position they seek.  

 

Cadets will conduct themselves appropriately for a classroom environment. 

 

Cadets will remain clean shaven (mustache acceptable no lower than corner of the 

mouth) throughout the academy. 

 

Cadet’s hair (MALE or FEMALE) will NOT touch the collar. 

 

Tattoos are acceptable (No nudity or vulgarity). 

 

Earrings and facial piercings are not acceptable. 

 

Cadets will be taught the chain of command concept and will be expected to 

maintain it throughout their time in the academy. 

 

Cadets may only miss 14 days total FOR ANY REASON PER TCOLE. 

 

Cadets may NOT MISS ANY DAYS OF THE FOLLOWING COURSES of 

instruction: Standard Field Sobriety Training, Firearms, TASER/OC Spray, Police 

Driving, ALERRT (Active Shooter). 

 

Cadets will be expected to make up any missed courses on their own time. 


